ListCost
Beta. Prices come only from each platform's official pricing page, in USD, before tax, add-ons and payment-processor fees. Anything not stated there is marked pending.
Home › Compare › AWeber vs Buttondown

AWeber vs Buttondown: cost by list size

At 1,000 subscribers Buttondown is cheaper: $108/yr billed monthly vs $250/yr. At 5,000 subscribers Buttondown is cheaper: $348/yr billed monthly vs $600/yr.

Last checked 2026-10-18 on the official pages.

The lowest stated yearly-billing price for each list size, from AWeber ↗ and Buttondown ↗ official pricing, checked 2026-10-18. Base plans only; features differ between plans.

SubscribersAWeberButtondown
500Lite: $150/yrBasic: $108/yr (billed monthly; no yearly price stated)
1,000Lite: $250/yrBasic: $108/yr (billed monthly; no yearly price stated)
2,500Lite: $350/yrStandard: $348/yr (billed monthly; no yearly price stated)
5,000Lite: $600/yrStandard: $348/yr (billed monthly; no yearly price stated)
10,000Lite: $1,000/yrProfessional: $948/yr (billed monthly; no yearly price stated)
25,000Lite: $2,100/yrno plan / pending
50,000Lite: $3,750/yrno plan / pending
100,000Lite: $6,000/yrno plan / pending
250,000no plan / pendingno plan / pending

Visit AWeber (affiliate link) ↗ · Visit Buttondown ↗

Disclosure: the beehiiv and AWeber sign-up links are affiliate links, so we may earn a commission if you subscribe through it. Prices, tiers and the cheapest-first ordering are calculated identically for every platform and never depend on affiliate status. Other platform links are plain.

See the per-plan tiers with sources on the AWeber and Buttondown pages. Alternatives: AWeber · Buttondown

Frequently asked questions

Is AWeber cheaper than Buttondown?

At 1,000 subscribers Buttondown is cheaper: $108/yr billed monthly vs $250/yr. At 5,000 subscribers Buttondown is cheaper: $348/yr billed monthly vs $600/yr.

Is AWeber free?

Pending. AWeber's pricing page shows paid Lite and Plus plans and a 14-day free trial; it does not state a free plan or its limits.

Is Buttondown free?

Yes, up to 100 subscribers.